Bonner County Assistance
Click on links below for other community resources:
Bonner Partners In Care Clinic
NAMI Far North Crisis Line 946-5595
Sandpoint Community Resource Center
County Assistance Program
Idaho law states that citizens should be responsible for paying for their own medical care. To the extent that is not possible, the county and the state are required to offer some assistance.
Medical Assistance Guidelines
What is the Indigent Assistance Program?
Indigent Assistance is a program designed to assist qualified Bonner County residents in paying hospital, medical and certain other non-medical costs. It is available only when no other alternative exists and does not supplement any other type of assistance such as Medicare, Medicaid, SSI, private insurance, workman’s compensation, veteran benefits, etc.
Who is eligible for Indigent Assistance?
Residents of Bonner County in need of necessary medical services that do not have income or other resources available sufficient to pay for such services.
How do I apply for Indigent Assistance?
An application and a list of required documents may be obtained at the Bonner County Assistance office. Complete the application and return it to the assistance office. An interview will be scheduled to review your application and the required documents.
When do I need to file my application?
Completed Applications must be filed according to specific timelines:
- A completed application for non-emergency necessary medical services shall be filed with the clerk ten (10) days prior to receiving services from the provider or the hospital
- A completed application for emergency necessary medical services shall be filed with the clerk any time within thirty-one (31) days beginning with the first day of the provision of necessary medical services from the provider
- In the case of hospitalization, a completed application for emergency necessary medical services shall be filed with the department any time within thirty-one (31) days of the date of admission.
- Requests for additional treatment related to an original diagnosis in accordance with a pre-approved treatment plan shall be filed ten (10) days prior to receiving services
- A delayed application may be filed up to one hundred eighty (180) days beginning with the first day of service providing that written documentation is included with the application or no later that forty-five (45) days after an application has been filed showing a bona fide application or claim has been filed or the other resource.
How much will the Indigent program pay?
- Medical payments by the indigent program will not exceed the sum of eleven thousand dollars ($11,000.00) per applicant for any twelve (12) month period. When medical bills exceed this amount, application to the State of Idaho’s Catastrophic Health Care Program will be made by the County Assistance office for payment of the balance.
- Non medical payments are limited to a maximum of one (1) incident and two hundred dollars ($200.00) per twelve (12) month period.
What services are not covered by the Indigent program?
- Mental Health Services
- Dental work (except for emergency extraction)
- Elective surgery
- Cosmetic surgery
- Experimental procedures
- Bone marrow transplant
- Organ transplant
- Normal, uncomplicated pregnancy
- Well baby care
- Services related to, or provided by, residential, skilled nursing, assisted living and/or shelter care facilities
- Medicaid and/or Medicare co-pays and deductibles
Will I have to pay the Indigent program back?
Yes. The Indigent Program is a reimbursement program. Once the applicant has been approved for assistance, a repayment schedule is approved and formalized in a reimbursement agreement.
Will the county file liens?
Yes. Upon application for financial assistance, an automatic lien shall attach to all real and personal property, insurance benefits, and additional resources.